Mary’s Cafe

Whenever I passed by the Godiva kiosk in Shinjuku station, I always wanted to buy the chocolate drinks they offer. However, every pregnant Gaijin mommy-to-be in Tokyo has to watch their weight so the midwives wouldn’t badger them/us with their/our constant weight gain (15kg max!). So, I kept telling myself that I will try Godiva once I gave birth.  Unfortunately, the first few months postpartum, I had to keep off chocolates and make sure Little A’s skin won’t get any more rashes. This meant that Godiva has to be postponed.

Lately though, taking a bit of chocolate seems ok! So when we chanced upon Mary’s Cafe in Tokyo Station, we just had to try their chocolate drink! Komiya-san (Japanese consultant based in Manila) used to give me a box of Mary’s whenever he came to Japan– so Mary’s stirs a bit of nostalgia for me 🙂

image

I thought it read AU14 FOREVER! Hahaha! Apparently, it’s Au 14 Fevrier.  Mary’s chocolate shop in St. Valentine village in France is located  at Rue du 14 Fevrier.

image

Because we just ate, we agreed to order just one drink to share — Ice Chocolate Mousse!  200ml of rich chocolate goodness. In my mind though, iced meant a frappe of sort– much like Starbucks mocha frappucino but as I found out, iced meant…they put ice on the drink 😦  Nevermind my misunderstanding, the drink was great with really smooth mousse and a generous coating of cocoa powder on top! You get a freebie white chocolate with strawberry bits, too, for 480yen.

Once you get your drink from the counter, you can go to their sprinkles station. I don’t have a photo, though! Little A was sleeping and I didn’t want to bother her (too much) 😀  DrG went to get some milk chocolate and white chocolate covered rice crispies, small candies and sprinkles, and some little chocolate bits . There were also regular milk and low-fat milk, additional sugar syrup and other add ons!  We wanted to preserve the purity of the original drink so we decided to mix the milk and the add-on candies together and just had instant cereal instead, hehehe!

image

Go to Mary’s when you’re in the area– great place to hang out after looking at Marounochi’s and Kitte’s illumination (post about this to follow!).

 
Mary’s Cafe
http://www.mary.co.jp/marys_cafe/index.html
Kitte, 1st Floor
 
