In Summer!

The sun is finally out (after weeks of rain!)

My idea of summer is playing by a spraying fire hydrant. Children laughing and running around. Water drops reflecting the sun’s rays. All these in black and white. You could say my mind is set in 1970s New York. In reality, my childhood summers weren’t even close to anything like that. Mine were mostly spent in summer classes or sports activities and may or may not have included lounging around the house. Those were fun days nonetheless.

Pretty dry, yeah?

Playing with water wasn’t the norm. It’s wasteful and children might get sick. But, there was this one special day. I remember this one time my mom allowed us to play in the rain. She told my sisters and I to go out to the 2nd floor area veranda without roof. Just in house clothes, we squealed in delight, danced in the rain, and jumped on puddles of rain water. I don’t remember how long we played but long enough for me to remember that happy day.

Water play is such a big thing here in Tokyo! A long list of wading pools and fountains are posted online. Most are free, too!

image

I don’t know how clean the water is. I try not to get turned off by that idea. I need to just let Little A enjoy the slightly warm water that may or may not have xx liters of pee per cubic water. I also ignore the nagging voice telling me kids shouldn’t play in the water  (except when you’re swimming in it and then you should immediately take a bath right after).

image

image

And maybe one day, she will tell me about that one day she remembers playing with water on a hot summer day.

When life gets rough, I like to hold on to my dream,
Of relaxing in the summer sun, just lettin’ off steam. -Olaf

